“R” scripts for Metatrader ….. The first steps of many for proper trading

I have designed and developed Automated Trading Systems (ATS) for few years now. Since trading live, I have been fairly profitable (that is, I achieved my goals). However, I had the unsatisfactory feeling that I was missing some information to increase the level of trust in my systems … I was missing the proper tools to closely examine, and follow-up on the Real Equity Curve of an ATS.

I define the Real Equity Curve (REC) as the accrual of the

In-Sample backtesting Period + Out-Sample backtesting Period + Paper Traded Period + Live Trading Period.

There are quite a bit of information on the web for such but I did not find any Free Open Source tools to perform such assessment, specifically for Metatrader. Indeed, I do use MT4 for trading my strategies, and it’s fine with me; no issue nor any concerns. You might think otherwise but I will not go there … that’s far, far from my current objective.

Moving from one thread to another, I found this particular one: Synthetic hedges, cointegration, mean reversion and similar stuff (related to: MQL4->R-project – Interface Library).     Well, this was more than I needed to finally get a kick-start attempting to fill my needs for REC analysis.

I have started a GoogleCode SVN which contains my R scripts along with example files. My objectives are to design and implement the following:

  • Analysis of multiple MT4 StrategyTester [.htm] files … as I realized most, if not all, the software out-there are commercial solutions
  • Analysis and Follow-up of ATS through Real Equity Curve evaluation
  • Provide a detection for ATS performance Break-Down … to determine as soon as possible when things get ugly

In a second session, and because I stumble across few interesting information here and there, I will be looking at the following:

  • Strategy Optimization of MT4 ATS through R
  • Enhanced the analysis of ATS performance, through System Consistency evaluation for example
  • Enhanced the REC evaluation with Monte-Carlo analysis and Bayesian Statistics
  • and eventually combine the above to investigate Computer Generated ATS (CGATS).

As a first start, thereafter I present 2 examples of my programming kick-start: (1) The aggregation of multiple StrategyTester reports and, (2) the visual follow-up of an optimized MT4 Moving Average from backtesting to paper-trading. Every information and material needed can be found at http://code.google.com/p/rscripts4metatrader/

(1) Using: MT4_StratRep_Analyzer()

(2) Using: MT4_RealEquityCurve_Analysis ()

Metatrader Optimization on the Moving Average EA for the period 2008.01 -> 2009.01

3    2408.02    694    1.27    3.47    784.52    18.86%    MovingPeriod=60    Lots=0.1     MaximumRisk=0.02     DecreaseFactor=3     MovingShift=6

One thought on ““R” scripts for Metatrader ….. The first steps of many for proper trading

  1. Simply want to say your article is as surprising. The clarity on your post
    is just excellent and i can assume you are a professional on this subject.

    Well with your permission allow me to grab your RSS
    feed to stay updated with drawing close post.
    Thank you one million and please carry on the gratifying work.

Leave a Reply

